433 families in Kapai & Ditsaan Ramain towns to receive relief goods

20170705_073604(2nd Update | July 31) –Four hundred thirty three families in the municipalities of Kapai and Ramain towns of Lanao del Sur receive five (5) kilos of rice each.

The relief goods were distributed by self-help Maranao community leaders and were assisted by Lanao Muslim Youth Affairs (LMYA), Bae Rawaten, Mothers for Peace, and Office of the Maranao, Higaonon, and other Cultural Communities (OMaHCC) — all of whom are partners under Community-led Emergency Action Response Network (CLEARNet) organized by Ecoweb Inc.

20170705_071255Relief goods are sourced from the assistance of College of Social Work and Community Development of the University of the Philippines (UP- CSWCD). The latter donated P109,700.00 to contribute in Marawi Crisis Response.

Kapai is a fourth class municipality with a population of 17,370 (based on 2010 census) and 2,465 households within 20 barangays.

20170705_072134Ditsain Ramain, on the other hand, is a fifth class municipality with 20,208 population (based on 2010 census) and 2,682 households within 34 barangays.

Both are located adjacent to Marawi city where the armed conflict is happening.

In 45-day offensive operation of AFP against the violent extremists, there are now 400,432 evacuees from Marawi and Lanao del Sur. They are dispersed in 78 evacuation centers and in households within 409 barangays in seven regions of the country.

The city has been declared in a total lockdown by military officials since May 26 following martial law declaration.

National Disaster Risk and Reduction Management Commission (NDRRMC)  reported that there are twenty towns that are affected by violent unrest in Marawi. This include Kapai and Ditsaan Ramain.


CLEARNet Meeting.

Both town’s local economies has been negatively impacted by the armed confrontation in Marawi between government forces and local “hybrid” extremist groups.

The stringent enforcement of lockdown policy in Marawi also totally dysfunctionalized the municipal economy, including the 18 other towns based on NDRRMC report as of July 5, 2017.

Other affected towns are Balindong (Wato), Bayang, Binidayan, Buadiposo-Buntong, Bubong, Butig, Calanogas, Ganassi, Lumba-Bayabao (Maguing), Lumbatan, Madamba, Madalum, Marantao, Masiu, Mulondo, Poona Bayabao (Gata), Saguiaran, and Tugaya.

The figures are tracked by Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) and NDRRMC.